top of page

Writing in Environmental Science

Through the ethnography process, I realized I will most likely be using communication and writing in my chosen discipline. I already see both writing and communication being used in Environmental Science. Every couple of weeks the Assistant of the Environmental Science program will send out a newsletter to the people in the major and minor with information pertaining to our course of study. For example, a few weeks ago she sent out a newsletter with tips on how to make your Thanksgiving more sustainable. The newsletter also has links to scholarships and internships and gives the dates of Environmental Science events. One of the events is called “Fireside Chats.” The newsletter gives information on what day, time and location the talks will occur. It is a convenient source and it helps me stay up to date on what’s going on in my chosen discipline. This use of digital media is very efficient. It is an easy way to reach all of the people in the major and minor and it keeps everyone informed on any latest news. This digital composition plays a large part in my chosen discipline because it keeps everyone connected.

(Here's a link to the NCSU Environmental Science Academic Program site: https://envi.dasa.ncsu.edu/news/)

I think as I pursue Environmental Science, I will use writing and communication. Many environmental organizations and groups have websites they use to reach the public and it plays a huge role in getting across their ideas and messages. There is so much new information being discovered in the field of Environmental Science and there must be a way to share it with the public. This is why websites, journals, and magazines are so important to the discipline. This being said, I feel like writing and communication will play a large part in my future career path. I don’t know exactly what I want to do in the future, but like in many chosen disciplines, I’m sure writing will be involved.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page